10,000 Bullets   Exploring the world of Cinema from the Arthouse to the Grindhouse™

Written by: on May 13th, 2010

Theatrical Release Date:
Japan, 2004
Director: Marumo
Writer: Furiiuiru
Cast: Miyavi, Hamasama Akane, Ryôta Matsushima, Kubata Shouta, Hassei Takano

DVD Released: April 27th, 2010
Approximate Running Time: 66 minutes
Aspect Ratio: 1.85:1 Anamorphic Widescreen
Rating: NR
Sound: Dolby Digital Stereo Japanese
Subtitles: English
DVD Release: Eastern Star / Discotek
Region Coding: Region 1 NTSC
Retail Price: $24.95

Synopsis: After being mobbed by a group of overzealous fans, Miyavi gets back into a van which is taking him back to home town for the first time since he became a pop star. Along the way he falls asleep and when he wakes up. He finds himself in a familiar, yet strange place. He quickly realizes that he has traveled back in time twenty years.

Cast in the film leads role is a Japanese musician named Miyavi. The character he plays in the film is also named Miyavi and the events which unfold in the film are loosely based on his life. The plot is a simple story about a young man who on the surface appears to have everything his hearts desires. The bulk of the film centers around the Miyavi character helping those who he befriends discover who they are and what they want to be. By the film’s conclusion rolls around Miyavi who began the film unsure of who he had become. He finally becomes content with who he is. At the core of this film is a story about second chances and the themes dealt with in this film like insecurity and loss of innocence, are universal themes which translate well in any language.

The DVD:

Eastern Star presents Oresama in a anamorphic widescreen. The transfer looks clean, details look crisp and colors and flesh tones look accurate throughout.

This release comes with one audio option, a Dolby Digital stereo mix in Japanese and removable English subtitles have been included. The audio is clear and balanced throughout. This is pretty much a dialog driven film with the music in the film being the only part of the mix that ever comes close to sounding robust.

Extras for this release include brief text bio’s Miyavi, Hassei Takano, Akane Hamasaski, Erika Ohkushi, Ryôta Matsushima and Shota Kubata. The main extra included with this release is a behind the scenes featurette for the film (18 minutes 41 seconds – 4:3 full frame, in Japanese with English subtitles). This is essentially your standard behind the scenes segment. Overall Oresama gets a strong DVD release from Eastern Star.

Disclaimer: Some of the reviews contained here at 10kbullets contain screenshots that may not be suitable for those surfing the website at work and discretion is advised while viewing these pages. All of the screenshots and other images used on this site are solely for promotional purposes and are copyrighted to their respective owners. All reviews, bios and interviews unless noted in the text of the review, bio or interview are original content that was written exclusively for 10kbullets and has never been published anywhere else. On occasion there may be typos or errors in the text and if you let us know we will be more then happy to correct all typos or misinformation in the text. All opinions expressed on this site are solely those of the author(s) and not that of any company or person referred to. All the written material contained on 10kBullets is intended for informational purposes only and it is copyright © 2004-Present by the authors.