10,000 Bullets   Exploring the world of Cinema from the Arthouse to the Grindhouse™

Chow Yun-Fat 
Written by: on May 5th, 2004
“Actually, I’m a Buddhist. And in real life, I hate violence. I don’t like it at all. But I’m forced to do it because it’s my job.” ­ Chow Yun-FatChow Yun-fat was born on May 18th, 1955 in Lamma Island, Hong Kong. His acting career at the age of 18, working for TVB, Hong Kong’s biggest television station and By the age of 21, Chow a major presence on Chinese TV and started to segue into a movie career. Over the 14 year span that Chow worked for TVB, he had completed numerous films and over 1,000 episodes in various series; acting in soap operas, dramas and comedies. He would star in Hotel, a 128-episode series that made him the top television star in his native Hong Kong. In 1980 Chow’s popularity increased with the TV drama “Shanghai Bund”, a white-suited crime boss in 1920s Shanghai. The show was phenomenal success throughout Asia and the episodes were subsequently re-edited into two features in 1983.

Chow continued to alternate between films and TV throughout the first half of the 80s. Chow’s early features were forgettable genre entries that failed to achieve the success he had obtained as a T.V. star. Then in 1981 the success with Ann Hui’s, The Story of Woo Viet, Chow would receive critical praise as a Vietnamese refugee who escapes to Hong Kong. Chow would receive acclaim and the Taiwanese Golden Horse Award for Best Actor for the period drama “Hong Kong 1941” (1984) as a Northerner who comes to Hong Kong where he befriends and nearly betrays a coolie. Chow was being written off as a has-been by the mid-eighties Chow with a string of commercial failures. Then in 1986 Chow would team up with writer-director John Woo, at the time similarly undervalued, to collaborate on a film that would transform both of their careers.

“After I saw A Better Tomorrow, I went out and bought a long coat, and I got sunglasses, and I walked around for a week dressing like Chow Yun-Fat. And to me, that’s the ULTIMATE compliment for an action hero–when you want to dress like the guy.” – Quentin Tarantino, Los Angeles Times, January 3, 1993

With A Better Tomorrow Chow Yun-Fat would obtain international stardom and he would go on to make with John Woo, A Better Tomorrow 2, The Killer, Once A Thief and culminating with Hard Boiled. Along with Chow’s Films with John Woo, he would make other hits with Ringo Lam City on Fire, Prison on Fire and Prison on Fire 2 that would lead to a movie renaissance in Hong Kong that would open the eyes of Western film critics. The Major turning point was when The Killer was shown at the Sundance Film Festival in 1991. The Killer would peak the attention of Hollywood studios and began Hollywood’s courtships with Chow Yun-Fat.

Courted by Communist China to continue making films in Hong Kong when the British colony reverted to its control in 1997, Chow did what many filmmakers and actors had before him. Chow moved to the U.S. and in 1997 he made his Hollywood debut with Antoine Fuqua’s The Replacement Killers. Since moving to America Chow has show audiences his range in style and that he can be a lot more then an action star. In 2000 Chow would score another blockbuster with Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon which would make more money then any subtitled film in movie history.


The Last Tycoon(2012)
The Assassins (2012)
Let the Bullets Fly (2010)
The Red Circle (2009)
Dragonball (2009)
The Children of Huang Shi (2008)
Stranglehold (2007)
Pirates of the Caribbean: At World’s End (2007)
Curse of the Golden Flower (2006)
The Postmodern Life of My Aunt (2006)
Waiting Alone (2004)
Bulletproof Monk (2003)
Crouching Tiger, Hidden Dragon (2000)
Anna and the King (1999)
The Corruptor (1999)
The Replacement Killers (1998)
The Peace Hotel (1995)
God of Gamblers Returns (1994)
American Shaolin (1994)
Full Contact (1992)
Now You See It… Now You Don’t (1992)
Hard-Boiled (1992)
God of Gamblers II (1991)
Prison on Fire II (1991)
Black Vengeance (1990)
Once a Thief (1990)
All for the Winner (1990)
Wild Search (1989)
God of Gamblers (1989)
The Fun, the Luck, and the Tycoon (1989)
Triads: The Inside Story (1989)
Code of Honour (1989)
A Better Tomorrow III (1989)
All About Ah-Long (1989)
The Killer (1989)
The Eighth Happiness (1988)
Fractured Follies (1988)
The Greatest Lover (1988)
Tiger Goes on the Beat (1988)
City War (1988)
The Legend of Yu Ta Fu (1988)
Goodbye, My Friend (1988)
Diary of a Big Man (1988)
The Romancing Star (1987)
Prison on Fire (1987)
Rich and Famous (1987)
Spiritual Love (1987)
Dragon and Tiger Fight (1987)
City on Fire (1987)
Scared Stiff (1987)
A Better Tomorrow II (1987)
Tragic Hero (1987)
An Autumn’s Tale (1987)
The Missed Date (1986)
Love Unto Waste (1986)
The Lunatics (1986)
My Will, I Will (1986)
100 Ways to Murder Your Wife (1986)
A Heavy Response (1986)
A Better Tomorrow (1986)
The Seventh Curse (1986)
Dream Lovers (1986)
The Lunatics (1986)
Daai Heung Gong” (1985) TV Series
Why Me? (1985)
Lost Romance (1985)
Women (1985)
The Affair from Nepal (1985)
San Jaat Si Hing – Juk Jaap” (1985) TV Series
Hong Kong 1941 (1984)
The Occupant (1984)
Love in a Fallen City (1984)
Flower City (1983)
The Head Hunter (1983)
The Bund Part II (1983)
The Bund (1983)
Bloody Money (1983)
Fo Fung Wong (1982) TV Series
Sou Hat Yi (1982) TV Series
The Story of Woo Viet (1981)
The Postman Fights Back (1981)
The Executioner (1981)
Beautify (1980)
Hei kek wong (1980)
Master Father (1980)
Hard Boiled Killers (1980)
Their Private Lives (1978)
Heroic Cops (1978)
Keung Yan” (1978) TV Series
Hot Blood (1977)
Club Girl Story (1976)
The Hunter, the Butterfly, and the Crocodile (1976)
Saat Sau Qi Shi Er Siu Si (1976) TV Series
The Reincarnation (1976)
Learned Bride Thrice Fools Bridegroom (1976)

Disclaimer: Some of the reviews contained here at 10kbullets contain screenshots that may not be suitable for those surfing the website at work and discretion is advised while viewing these pages. All of the screenshots and other images used on this site are solely for promotional purposes and are copyrighted to their respective owners. All reviews, bios and interviews unless noted in the text of the review, bio or interview are original content that was written exclusively for 10kbullets and has never been published anywhere else. On occasion there may be typos or errors in the text and if you let us know we will be more then happy to correct all typos or misinformation in the text. All opinions expressed on this site are solely those of the author(s) and not that of any company or person referred to. All the written material contained on 10kBullets is intended for informational purposes only and it is copyright © 2004-Present by the authors.